Friday, 31 July 2009

CFP: RMA Annual Conference 2010 'Boundaries' (IMR, University of London)

15 - 17 JULY 2010

Summary Conference Abstract [full abstract at]: The past 25 years of reflection and renewal within musicology have led relationships between our inherently interdisciplinary subject area and other disciplines to flourish as never before. At the same time, we have begun to challenge the validity of musical categorizations that have long been taken for granted both within academia and in the public at large. So how can we now define the boundaries of our subject? What impact do different ways of conceptualizing and categorizing music have on our understanding of it and on the creative activities of musicians? The aim of the conference is to encourage exploration of the ways in which those working in the diverse areas of musical research understand, challenge and make fluid some of the boundaries within their own disciplinary areas and beyond them. The conference will include the Peter Le Huray Lecture for 2010, to be given by Jim Samson (Royal Holloway), and keynote presentations from Martin Clayton (Open University) and Sara Cohen (University of Liverpool).

Call for proposals:

Proposals of 250 words maximum are invited for the following:

• Papers (20 minutes maximum, with 10 minutes discussion)

• Lecture-recitals and performances /demonstrations (30 minutes maximum, with 15 minutes discussion)

Proposals of 650 words maximum are invited for the following:

• Themed paper sessions of three or four papers (to include a proposal of 300 words maximum outlining the purpose of the themed session, along with brief explanations of each of the individual papers to be included - each paper to be 20 minutes maximum plus ten minutes discussion)

DEADLINE for proposals: 5pm (GMT), Friday 20 November 2009

Results and preliminary programme announced: late December 2009

Please submit by email, in an attachment including your full name and contact details, to the IMR Administrator Mrs Valerie James: music [at] If you are a student, please say so.

Proposals will be judged anonymously. Proposals sent in by students will be given special consideration.

RMA Programme Committee: Rosamund Bartlett (Oxford), Katherine Brown (KCL), Rebecca Herissone (Manchester), John Irving (IMR), Nicholas McKay (Sussex)

No comments:

Creative Commons License
Interesting Music Stuff (IMS) is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. Any redistribution of content contained herein must be properly attributed with a hyperlink back to the source.
Click on the time link at the bottom of the post for the direct URL
and cite Colin J.P. Homiski, Interesting Music Stuff.