Saturday, 31 January 2009

CFP: Journal of the Alamire Foundation


The Alamire Foundation is proud to announce the launch of a new journal, the Journal of the Alamire Foundation. The Journal aims to provide a critical forum for the most recent and outstanding research on music in or related to the Low Countries up to the end of the Ancien Régime. It will appear twice a year, as well as in electronic form. The first volume is scheduled for October 2009. The journal will be published by Brepols.

Contributions are invited in any area of musicological research, including analysis, music theory, palaeography and notation, source studies, archival research, music and institutions, and aesthetics. Interdisciplinary research, in fields such as music and iconography, literature, theology, politics, art history, emblematics, or philosophy is also particularly welcomed. The standard article length is around 5000 words, including footnotes and other supplementary materials, although both longer and shorter contributions will be considered.

In fulfilment of the Foundation’s mission to promote dialogue between the worlds of performance and scholarship, a section of each issue will be devoted to scholarly discussion of a recent performance event, production (such as a CD, DVD, concert, or festival), edition, book, or current burning issue. Proposals and contributions (of around 2500 words) to this section are also warmly invited.

The principal language of the Journal is English, but contributions are also possible in any commonly understood scholarly language. Articles may be submitted at any time, via email, at: jaf at Questions may also be sent to the same address. Further information, including the Journal’s style-sheet, will become available shortly at:

General editors:
David Burn – Katelijne Schiltz

Editorial board:
Barbara Haggh – Christian Leitmeir – Pedro Memelsdorff – Klaus Pietschmann – Dorit Tanay – Giovanni Zanovello

Advisory board:
Bonnie J. Blackburn – Jennifer Bloxam – Anna Maria Busse-Berger – Sean Gallagher – David Hiley – Andrew Kirkman – Karl Kügle – John Milsom – Emilio Ros-Fabregas – Rudolf Rasch – Thomas Schmidt-Beste – Eugeen Schreurs – Reinhard Strohm – Philippe Vendrix – Rob Wegman

No comments:

Creative Commons License
Interesting Music Stuff (IMS) is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. Any redistribution of content contained herein must be properly attributed with a hyperlink back to the source.
Click on the time link at the bottom of the post for the direct URL
and cite Colin J.P. Homiski, Interesting Music Stuff.