Tuesday, 17 February 2009

Scholarship: American Brahms Society Twentieth Annual Geiringer Scholarship


The American Brahms Society is seeking applicants for its Karl Geiringer Scholarship in Brahms Studies, which is awarded annually from the Society’s Karl Geiringer Fund in Brahms Studies, as meritorious candidates present themselves. The competition is open to students in the final stages of preparing a doctoral dissertation at a university in North America. Work relating to Brahms should form a significant thread within the dissertation, but it need not be the only one. The Selection Committee welcomes applications from students whose research might be concentrated instead on music by members of Brahms’s circle, on musical life in later nineteenth-century Vienna, and so forth. Only projects that demonstrate significant original thought and research will be deemed competitive. The decision to award the scholarship, which carries a stipend of $2,000, rests with the Board of Directors; the winner will be announced in November 2009, following the regular annual meeting of the Board.

Completed applications will consist of 1) a cover letter, including the applicant’s address, phone number, e-mail address, and institutional affiliation; 2) a concise description of the project (no more than 500 words), in which the applicant’s methods and conclusions are stated clearly; and 3) a brief account (no more than 250 words) detailing the aspect of the project to be completed with assistance from the Karl Geiringer Scholarship, including travel plans, if appropriate. These materials should be submitted, in triplicate, to:

Prof. David Brodbeck
Chair, Geiringer Scholarship Committee
Department of Music, Claire Trevor School of Arts
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697

and must be postmarked no later than 1 May 2009.

The application must be supported by two confidential letters of recommendation, including one from the dissertation advisor; these should be sent directly to the Chair of the Geiringer Scholarship Committee and must also be postmarked by 1 May. Finalists in the competition will be notified by 15 May and will be asked to submit a sample chapter from their dissertation.

A listing of all previous Geiringer Scholars is available online at

No comments:

Creative Commons License
Interesting Music Stuff (IMS) is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. Any redistribution of content contained herein must be properly attributed with a hyperlink back to the source.
Click on the time link at the bottom of the post for the direct URL
and cite Colin J.P. Homiski, Interesting Music Stuff.